JHS Builds Community Leadership with New Members at Annual Meeting

Date: 10/16/2012

Jameson Health System held its Annual Membership Meeting on September 19, 2012 at the Jameson Hospital South Campus Conference Center. Mr. Lee Silverman, Chairman of the health system’s Board of Directors, presented the Chairman’s Report; JHS Chief Executive Officer, Mr. Douglas Danko delivered the 2011-2012 Annual Report and Treasurer of the Board of Directors, Mr. Ben Huffman, presented the Treasurer’s Report.

During the reorganizational meeting of the Jameson Health System board following the annual meeting, new board appointments were made:

  • Jameson Hospital Board – Ms. Amy McConnell, Dr. Dennis Nebel and Ms. Norma Vranjes; Dr. John Mansell (emeritus);
  • Children’s Advocacy Center – David Henderson, Esq., Ms. Diana Reed, Ms. Deborah Roud, and Rev. David Young, Sr.; and
  • reappointments were made to the Jameson Hospital, Jameson Health Care Foundation, Jameson Care Center, Children’s Advocacy Center, Jameson Health Services and Jameson Medical Inc. Boards also.

Nine local business and community members were elected for the first time as Jameson Health System members.  They join 103 members who were re-elected. Mr. Steven Warner, Jameson Hospital Board Chairman and nominating committee chair, presided over elections.

New members include:

  • Rev. David M. Young, Sr. – Senior Pastor, Prevailing Word World Outreach Center.  His community affiliations include the New Castle Christian Ministerial Fellowship, Lawrence County Drug & Alcohol Commission and Highland House. “I have a strong desire to help make New Castle a better place to live, work and raise a family through serving on Jameson’s Children’s Advocacy Center board.”
  • Ms. Norma Vranjes, newly elected President, Jameson Junior Guild
  • Mr. Nicholas Sica – Partner, Community Practice Development, LP.  “I welcome this opportunity because I can contribute an entrepreneurial perspective to the dialogue and actions that are put forth.”
  • Ms. Deborah Roud, Head Teacher, Westminster College Preschool Lab.  Active member of Northminster Presbyterian Church and professional organizations dealing with the education of children.  “Jameson Health System has proven to be a leader in quality health and human services to local communities, and I look forward to serving on their Children’s Advocacy Center board.”
  • Ms. Diana Reed, Education Professor, Westminster College.  Her community affiliations include City Rescue Mission of New Castle Volunteer and active member of New Wilmington Presbyterian Church.  “By serving on Jameson’s Children’s Advocacy Center board and as an early childhood educator, my hope is that improvements will be made in the lives of young children and their families in Lawrence County.”
  • Ms. Carleen McGann, Member of Community.  Her community affiliations include National M.S. Society Board and director of M.S. Monster Stomp Race, and American Cancer Society.  “I see Jameson Health System as a vital part of this community.  Being a member of the community for fourteen years and married to a medical professional I have an interesting take on medicine.”
  • Ms. Karen Ionta, Member of Community, Retired Superintendent of Schools.  “I believe every person must be responsible and contribute to the betterment of our community, and when there is an outreach of helping hands, great things are possible.”
  • Mr. William R. Devido, CEO, Devido Stone & Marble Company.   “I welcome the opportunity to see how the hospital operates and to serve on subcommittees to help the community.”
  • Mr. Samuel Angelucci, Associate Broker/Manager, Howard Hanna Real Estate.  His community affiliations include American Cancer Society, Lawrence County Chamber of Commerce, Lawrence County Board of Realtors, and Council of Residential Brokers. “I have a desire to do my part in helping to serve the community with an opportunity to hear many opinions and suggestions from clients.”

Meanwhile, Mr. Frank Moses and Mr. Vince Tutino were elected by the membership to serve three-year terms on the Jameson Health System Board of Directors with Ms. Kay Thompson and Mr. Robert Wushinske elected to emeritus.