Jameson Memorial Hospital School of Nursing Celebrates Graduation of the Class of 2011

Date: 06/06/2011

New Castle, PA – June 6, 2011 –Thirty-nine students received diplomas from the Jameson Memorial Hospital School of Nursing at commencement exercises held in Orr Auditorium, Westminster College in New Wilmington on May 27.

Mr. Steve Warner, chairman of the board of directors of Jameson Memorial Hospital; and Dr. Paul Wawrzynski, president, medical/dental staff, congratulated the class for successfully meeting the requirements for graduation.  

Mr. Douglas Danko, president/CEO of Jameson Health System, also addressed the graduates. He spoke regarding their commitment to the profession of nursing and the many opportunities that now lie ahead of them.  Mrs. Harriet Knowles, BSN, MSN, RN, GCNS, former assistant director of professional and allied health education at the School gave the keynote address. 

Mrs. Jayne Sheehan, director of professional and allied health education, presented the class after sharing words of wisdom of the importance of being viewed as “the best nurse” in the eyes of the patient.  Diplomas were presented by Mr. Warner.  Miss Faye Haylett, Professional Educator, presented the graduates with their pins and Mrs. Teresa Renninger, Professional Nurse Educator, conducted the candle lighting ceremony. 

The following students received awards presented by Mr. Danko and Dr. Fred Stoner, president Lawrence County Medical Society.

 Kevin Shaw - Julie Wojtowicz Award - given to the graduate who has exhibited determination, perseverance, dedication and compassion in surmounting financial, physical, social or other adversities of life.

Robyn Bennington - Lawrence County Medical Society Award - for outstanding ethical conduct.

Ryan Vatter -  Leo and Mitzi Robinson Memorial Award - for exceptional ability in meeting the psychosocial needs of the elderly in the community.

Jonalyn Brickner - St. Francis Hospital of New Castle School of Nursing Alumni Award - for clinical excellence throughout the program of study.

Bonnie Overby  - Jameson-Shenango Alumni Award - for the best all-around nurse as chosen by the graduating class.

Jonalyn Brickner - Travis A. French Award - for exceptional ability and understanding in the care of the childbearing family.

Cassandra Reed, Jennifer Spatara, Amanda Masotto - Rene D. Jenkins Memorial Award - for outstanding contribution to the School of Nursing.

Kimberly Tindell - Spirit of Nursing Award - awarded by the School of Nursing faculty to the graduate who best embodies the spirit of nursing.

Robyn Bell - Mark L. Rosenblum Student Nurse Scholarship Award- given to the graduate who has consistently demonstrated a high level of scholastic achievement.

The following are graduates and their hometowns:

New Castle, PA:  Robyn Bell, Kathleen R. Gerstnecker, Mary Janacone, Courtney Link, Susan Mays, Bonnie Norris, Amanda Wagner and Amanda Weaver; Sharon, PA: Michelle Cooper, Cassandra Reed, Rhianna Snyder and Jennifer Spatara; New Wilmington, PA: Megan Aliulis and Samantha Morgan; Grove City, PA: Ryan Vatter; Mercer, PA: Robyn Bennington and Alissa Newton; Bessemer, PA: Linda Corcoran; Transfer, PA: Gregory Gerasimek; Greenville, PA: Megan Baker and Michelle Baker; Darlington, PA: Jonalyn Brickner; Beaver, PA: Katica Kovacs; Sharpsville, PA: Samantha Ricciardi, Larry Lisi and Amanda Masotto; Ellwood City, PA:  Karlie Zito; Volant, PA: Kevin Shaw; Pulaski, PA: Brittany Main; Youngstown, Ohio: Elizabeth Carrier and Bonnie Overby.  Lowellville, Ohio: Michelle Lisko; Hubbard, Ohio: Kari Holden; Burghill, Ohio: Julianne Jablonski; Niles, Ohio: Carla Scherich; Vienna, Ohio: Dawn Schultz; New Springfield, Ohio: Kimberly Tindell; and Streetsboro, Ohio: Vickie White-Muir. 

The Jameson Memorial Hospital School of Nursing was established in 1895 with its first graduation ceremony observed in 1898.